Sylvia Bartel

Residential - Sales Associate

Cell: 316.217.3359
Office: 316.283.1330
Sylvia has been working in real estate since 2004, starting in Hutchinson, KS with Coldwell Banker Americana where she was a member of the Multi-Million Dollar Club for five consecutive years. She and her husband have now relocated back to Newton to be closer to family. She has called Kansas home for 36 years since coming to Hesston College from her hometown in Colorado.  She received her associate degree at Hesston College, and the following year married her husband, Nate Bartel in 1978.  They made their home in Newton until moving to Hutchinson, KS for his job in 1995.  She has two grown sons and in 2004 became grandma to Ezra, and in 2014 a granddaughter, Rozalyn.  She worked as a medical transcriptionist for 26 years in Newton, Halstead and Hutchinson but when her son...

I've been meaning to write to thank you for more than a year now. If you recall, in the summer of 2015 we moved into a wonderful house in Hesston. At the time I'm afraid I was pretty grumpy about it. The lenders messed up some paperwork and we were delayed in moving in after crossing the country with a 3-year-old and 2-month-old. Also, I'm slow to settle into new situations, and so was probably overly critical of the house. However, the point of this email is that I quickly came to love our house. I love our house! Thank you so much for alerting us when the price dropped and for helping us to get all our ducks in a row from afar.

- Christy Miller-Hesed
August 2017

Sylvia Bartel displayed a professionalism and knowledge of real estate that helped us from beginning to end in the selling of our home. She gave us suggestions about what to do in getting the home ready to sell that were just right. But what we appreciated most was her kindness and genuine care for us. We are very thankful we found her!

- Miriam Overholt
August 2016

We highly recommend Sylvia Bartel with JP Weigand. She helped us with both the sale of our previous home and purchase of our new home. She was amazing to work with! Sylvia explained the real estate transaction process every step of the way. She helped us think through each step so that we could make the best decision for us and looked after our interest throughout.

- Steve & Kristen Reber
August 2016

We were especially impressed with Sylvia's prompt responses to all of our inquiries. When we were ready to make an offer on a house, she made the process go very smoothly and we were confident she was looking out for our best interests.

- K & C Miller-Hesed
January 2016

As first time homebuyers Sylvia did an amazing job of assisting us. All questions were answered promptly and she usually had some extra tips and tricks to add to the answer that we would never have considered. During the closing process she took a lot of the weight off of our shoulders and made sure everything went smoothly and after our purchase she has been here to follow up and make sure everything was perfect too. She was very professional but also very personable and made the whole process easy. Thank you Sylvia!

- R. Mosley
October 2015

Sylvia was great at getting new listings to us, scheduled us to visit houses we were interested in, and was a good advocate working on our behalf with the sellers and seller's agents. Her years of experience and knowledge of the market was evident in her responses to our many questions as first time home buyers. She offered good advise and provided recommendations on local businesses when it came to scheduling housing inspections, transferring utilities, and making changes to our dream home. I would strongly recommend Sylvia for anyone looking to purchase a home.

- L Sharp
December 2015

We had a great experience with Sylvia. As our agent she did a great job of evaluating our house and suggesting improvements. Sylvia helped us set realistic expectations, price our home appropriately and stay positive during the process. We recommend her without reservation and would hire her again.

- R & J Thieszen
March 2015

Sylvia was very patient as our family revised wants and needs and she showed us various homes that fit what we asked at the moment. Eventually that place we wanted came back on the market and she checked into it immediately and made it available to us. We appreciate her professional demeanor throughout and the efficient handling of paperwork.

- P. Penner
June 2014

I appreciated Sylvia's work ethic for me and also for the buyer. She knew what area homes similar to ours were selling for and based on that we decided together on the price. She kept in contact with us about showings and people interested in the house. I would recommend her to anyone wanting their property sold.

- B. Dalke
August 2014

Sylvia Bartel made selling our house a pleasant experience. Being up to date on the market trends, she suggested price modifications but never pushed our price point where we didn't feel comfortable. She is prompt and very reliable as well as being friendly. We highly recommend using Sylvia Bartel as your agent.

- S. Ferrell
April 2014

Sylvia Bartel is a skilled, understanding, and compassionate realtor. She will answer all questions in a timely manner. Sylvia will take extra time to work out the myriad of details in a real estate transaction. If you want a pleasant experience in buying or selling a home I highly recommend Sylvia Bartel.

- Gayle
October 2011

I am pleased to offer this evaluation of Sylvia Bartel. During our recent purchase of a new home, she performed the duties one would expect from a realtor in a professional and competent manner. However, what made our experience noteworthy was due to our being located several hundred miles away from the Newton area, combined with a significant number of items that needed to be repaired. Sylvia acted in our behalf in contacting potential painters, carpenters, plumbers and handymen to submit bids. She then shared those bids with us - along with her evaluations. After we discussed and made a decision she contacted the tradesmen and followed up to see that the work was done properly. All this was done in a timely manner and the results were as good as if we had been there. Our experience with Sylvia was most satisfying during what was potentially a stressful and difficult period. I strongly recommend her to future real estate customers and would certainly contact her if we sell or buy in the future.

- Ted & Darlene
January 2012

I especially appreciated Sylvia's ability to listen to our wishes and preferences as sellers, even while she offered professional counsel and perspective that ultimately proved important to a successful outcome. For instance, early on she urged us to pay for a full house inspection and to make that report available to prospective buyers--a step we would not have taken independently, but a smart move considering we were selling an older home, and that was a good way to reassure buyers up front about the condition of the home. At other points in the process when we showed some impatience, she was a steadying influence. A "no drama" influence. Throughout the process she inspired confidence through her professionalism and her focus on the end goal. I'm sure that what felt like such a "good fit" between Sylvia's style and our own needs was due in large part to her adapting to make that relationship function so well. For me, that's an additional sign of her expertise, demonstrating her knowledge of people and insight into how to work with them.

- Brad & Diane
April 2012

Sylvia Bartel helped me locate a nice 2 bedroom bungalow in Wichita in the Fall of 2011. Sylvia kept me updated with listings meeting my criteria, went to viewings with me, arranged and attended the home inspection, and relayed my bids to the seller's rep. Once the sale was closed she recommended an electrician and plumber to help me complete some clean-up of the property. Sylvia is knowledgeable about the greater Wichita area, quick to follow-up and completely familiar with the home buying process - very professional.

- B. Ellison
December 2011

Property Compare